Open Kansas is a non-partisan, non-profit initiative to give the people of Kansas straightforward access to public record, public meetings, and a government that works for everyone in the light of day. It grew out of collaborative work within the non-profit community when various organizations realized they all faced similar difficulties obtaining access to public information. If it's so challenging for structured organizations to participate in state government, how much more difficult must it be for everyday Kansans?


Founding Open Kansas members include Kansas Appleseed, El Centro, Communities Creating Opportunity, Kansas Action for Children, and Kansas Association of Community Action Programs. However, after receiving widespread support and positive feedback, Open Kansas hopes to expand its reach to wide range of non-profits, professional associations, and policy organizations during the 2016 legislative session. Are you interested in joining the cause? E-mail info@openkansas.org today or call 785-836-6627.

To meet Open Kansas' important goals, partners encourage elected officials to sign a Transparency Pledge, advocated for laws that protect Kansans rights to participate in their government, and support policies that further open the doors of our democracy.

Open Kansas is a non-profit, non-partisan initiative to ensure access to public records and champion transparency in state government. The following organizations support the Open Kansas Initiative:

Sunshine Coalition for Open Government

Kansas Association of Broadcasters

Kansas Press Association

Mainstream Coalition

Kansas Head Start Association

Tiny-K Alliance

Women for Kansas

Kansas Action for Children


Disability Rights Center of Kansas

Kansas Health Foundation

Sunflower Foundation

Wyandotte Health Foundation

Kansas Center for Economic Growth

Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City

Kansas League of Women Voters

Kansas Appleseed

United Methodist Health Ministry Fund

Communities Creating Opportunity

El Centro

Kansas Association of Community Action Programs

Southeast Kansas Community Action (SEK-CAP)

East Central Kansas Economic Opportunity Corporation (ECKAN)

United Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas

American Civil Liberties Union

Metro Organizations for Racial and Economic Equity

Thrive Allen County

Practical Bioethics

Healthcore Clinic

Russell Child Development Center

Northeast Kansas Community Action Program Inc. (NEK-CAP)